Skip to main content

Indigenous Education Advisory Circle

The Purpose of the Indigenous Education Advisory Circle (IEAC):

Ontario Tech University is committed to ensuring that decisions related to Indigenous education and scholarship at the university are informed and guided by the Indigenous communities which it serves. To this end, the IEAC provides guidance to the university on its current goals for Indigenous student enrolment, retention and support, and its efforts to enhance awareness of Indigenous history and celebrate Indigenous cultures and ways of knowing.

In accordance with the Aboriginal Education Strategy set out by the Province of Ontario, the IEAC is responsible for ensuring that Indigenous people are appropriately engaged in decision making by the institution on relevant issues. Consistent with the terms of the strategy, the IEAC includes the Provost as a representative of the university's senior administration with a direct link to the President as well as Academic Council and the Board of Governors.


The Ontario Tech University Indigenous Education Advisory Circle provides advice and guidance to the Provost in the development of policies, programs and initiatives designed to achieve the goals and objectives as set out in Ontario’s Aboriginal Education Strategy. This includes but is not limited to:

  • Advice and recommendations on indigenizing the university to create an
    inclusive environment that acknowledges Indigenous histories and
    celebrates Indigenous cultures.

  • Facilitating the design and implementation of programming and curriculum
    that promotes a broader recognition and inclusion of Indigenous
    perspectives and ways of knowing.

  • Supporting the development and evaluation of programs and initiatives
    designed to increase Indigenous participation in post-secondary education
    and to enhance the academic success of Indigenous students at Ontario
The membership of the IEAC will include:

  • Bawaajigewin Community Circle Community Member

  • Co-Chair – Local First Nation Community Member (also Co-Chair of the President’s Indigenous Reconciliation Task Force)

  • Co-Chair – Ontario Tech Faculty Member appointed by the Provost (also Co-Chair of the President’s Indigenous Reconciliation Task Force)

  • Community Member at large

  • Durham Catholic District School Board Member

  • Durham District School Board Member

  • Elder Indigenous Community Member

  • Métis Nation of Ontario Community Member

  • Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation Education Advisor/Manager/Director

  • Ontario Tech Indigenous Cultural Advisor (ex-officio, non-voting)

  • Ontario Tech Provost and Vice-President, Academic (ex-officio, non-voting)

  • Ontario Tech Traditional Knowledge Keeper (ex-officio, non-voting)

  • Two Indigenous Ontario Tech Students (also members of the President’s Indigenous Reconciliation Taskforce)

Members serve for a two-year, renewable term. Membership that is not ex-officio will be recommended by the Co-Chairs and approved by the Provost.

Decisions of the IEAC will be made by a consensus model, where members commit to finding solutions that can be supported by all members, or at minimum that no member has an objection to the proposed solution. In the unique instance where consensus cannot be reached and a decision is required immediately due to time constraints, the members agree that the IEAC Co-Chairs will assume responsibility for making a decision and all members agree to support that decision.
Under the direction of the IEAC, an Indigenous Education Management Committee (IEMC) will conduct business of the IEAC between meetings and where necessary will seek their direction and report on activities between meetings. The IEMC membership consists of the IEAC Co-Chairs, the Indigenous Cultural Advisor, the Indigenous Programming Specialist and the Director, Student Services – Student Life.
Support for the IEAC (e.g. meeting and travel expenses) will be provided by the Provost’s Office.